Preparing students to learn, grow, thrive and achieve life-long success

Board of Education

The Solano County Board of Education is comprised of seven elected representatives from trustee areas. The Solano County Superintendent of Schools serves as the ex-officio secretary to the County Board. The Solano County Board of Education serves as the governance body for the Juvenile Court and Community School System and is a charter school authorizer. The Solano County Board of Education also serves as an appellate body for expulsion, interdistrict attendance, and charter school appeals. In addition, the Solano County Board of Education serves as the County Committee for School District Organization.

Regular board meetings are held the second Wednesday of each month in the Board Room of the Solano County Office of Education. For more information call 707-399-4402.

Image of Board Member Elease Minor
Elease Cheek
Trustee Area 5
Term ends 2020

Represents the unincorporated and incorporated areas of Vallejo, Mare Island, and Hiddenbrooke

Image of Board Member Peggy A. Cohen-Thompson
Peggy A. Cohen-Thompson, President
Trustee Area 7
Term ends 2020

Represents the central and southeastern portions of Vallejo

Image of Board Member Mayrene Bates
Teresa Lavell
Trustee Area 4
Term ends 2020

Represents the incorporated area of central and western Fairfield and the City of Suisun

Image of Board Member Michelle Coleman
Michelle Coleman, Vice President
Trustee Area 1
Term ends 2020

Represents areas within the City of Vacaville south of Elmira Road, and the northern part of Fairfield east of I-80

Image of Board Member Dana Dean
Dana Dean
Trustee Area 3
Term ends 2022

Represents areas including the City of Benicia, an area of eastern Vallejo, portions of south and east Fairfield, Cordelia, Travis Air Force Base, and Collinsville

Image of Board Member Doug Ford
Ginger Dunne
Trustee Area 6
Term ends 2022

Represents the incorporated and unincorporated areas of Dixon and southeast Vacaville

Image of Board Member Amy Sharp
Amy Sharp
Trustee Area 2
Term ends 2020

Represents areas in the northwest county incorporated area west of I-80 including portions of the cities of Vacaville and Fairfield and a portion of eastern Napa County