Preparing students to learn, grow, thrive and achieve life-long success

Educators of the Year


In 1978, the Solano County Office of Education (SCOE) began recognizing exemplary teachers. This endeavor has expanded to recognize outstanding classified school employees in the annual Solano County Educators of the Year (EOY) Celebration. The Solano County EOY Program recognizes two groups of educators in one celebration; the Classified School Employees of the Year (CSEY) and the Teachers of the Year (TOY).

The program is designed to reflect the rich diversity of Solano County’s educators and school staff while paying tribute to Solano’s teaching force, the growing complexity of challenges that confront our schools, and the need to promote collaboration and teamwork among educators to meet those challenges.

Nominating a TOY or CSEY within your District

Solano County school districts determine their nominees through a local selection process. Nominees selected as a district TOY or CSEY will participate in the Solano County EOY Program. Each school district may submit one (1) TOY nominee and one (1) CSEY nominee to SCOE’s Youth Development Office by Friday, February 8, 2019.

To complete the nominee applications, please visit the CSEY and TOY homepage:

For SCOE – To complete the nominee application please click the appropriate link below:

Classified School Employee of the Year Nomination Form
Teacher of the Year Nomination Form

The Solano County Educators of the Year Celebration will take place on Tuesday, April 30, 2019 at the Joseph A. Nelson Community Center (611 Village Drive, Suisun City) beginning at 5:15 PM. All participants will be invited to receive recognition and mementos for their selection as a district TOY or CSEY. The Solano County Teacher of the Year and the Solano County Classified Employee of the Year will be announced at this celebration. County winners will participate in the California Department of Education TOY and CSEY Programs.

For more information about the Educators of the Year Program, contact Ken Scarberry at (707) 646-7603 or or Rebecca Floyd at (707) 646-7602 or