Preparing students to learn, grow, thrive and achieve life-long success

Classified School Employee of the Year


District applications are due to Solano County Office of Education's Youth Development Department by February 8, 2019

The CSEY program is designed to highlight the contributions of classified school employees who support the education of our public school students in pre-kindergarten through grade twelve. The overall purpose is to pay tribute to the tireless efforts of outstanding classified school employees. They are vital members who play key roles in creating a school environment that promotes student achievement, safety, and health. It is our goal to recognize and honor an exemplary classified school employee from each school district throughout Solano County.

The Solano County CSEY Program is open to current school employees in Solano County’s public pre-kindergarten through grade twelve schools, including school districts and the Solano County Office of Education (SCOE). School districts may each select one classified school employee. A CSEY nominee is not in a management or supervisory position and has a minimum of five years of service in the nomination category with no minimum full-time equivalent. The nomination categories include child nutrition, maintenance and operations, office and technical support, paraeducator and instructional assistance, support services and security, and transportation.

SCOE provides the school districts with the guidelines for submitting nominations along with the evaluation and selection criteria that will be used to select awardees at the county level. Each district establishes its own internal process for selecting an outstanding classified school employee for the Solano County Educators of the Year (EOY) Program. The district nominee advances to the County selection and recognition program. Each district is invited to submit one candidate to be recognized at the Solano County EOY celebration.

The selection process for the Solano County CSEY begins with candidates whose names are submitted by school districts. SCOE will convene a Blue Ribbon Committee who will be responsible to evaluate all nominations within the context of the selection criteria, which is organized around three themes: work performance, school community involvement, and leadership and commitment.

The selection of the Solano County CSEY will be announced at the Educators of the Year Celebration on Tuesday, April 30, 2019 at the Joseph A. Nelson Community Center (611 Village Drive, Suisun City) beginning at 5:15 PM. Candidates from the school districts will be invited to receive recognition and mementos of their selection as a district CSEY.

For more information about the CSEY or EOY Program, please contact Ken Scarberry at (707) 646-7603 or by e-mail at or Rebecca Floyd at (707) 646-7602 or